LICA Honors Local Legislators & Comptrollers

Last Friday, Sept. 14, LICA was pleased to welcome more than 200 guests including 30+ local elected officials, to their Annual Bi-County Legislative Breakfast. In addition to presenting officials with a contractors’ measuring stick, reminding them that their “success will be measured in both miles and milestones” LICA also honored five local town comptrollers for their service “helping keep the engines of government running smoothly”. 

The event featured a roundtable discussion with Nassau and Suffolk County Comptrollers Jack Schnirman and John M. Kennedy (respectively) regarding county payment policies and procedures among other related items. The keynote address was given by special guest New York State Comptroller Tom DiNapoli.

LICA also debuted the latest issue of their new magazine Long Island Road Warriors at the event, which featured NYS Division of Homeland Security and Emergency Services Region 1 Director Patrick Beckley as the cover and lead story.

We thank everyone who attended, especially our generous sponsors (below) who supported the event. To see more photos from the event, visit the photo gallery here.

Bridge Sponsors:

  • Edward Ehrbar, Inc.
  • Grace Industries/Haugland Group
  • IUOE Local 15
  • IUOE Local 138
  • Posillico
  • Teamsters Local 282

Highway Sponsors:

  • KDV Law
  • JESCO, Inc.
  • NUCO Painting Corp.


LICA Legislative Breakfast, 9-14-18 (7).jpg

Sitting from left to right:

Senator Phil Boyle, Suffolk Legislator Tom Cilmi, Assemblyman Anthony D’Urso, Town of Islip Supervisor Angie Carpenter, Town of Smithtown Supervisor Edward Wehrheim, Town of Southampton DPW Supervisor Alex Gregor, Town of Riverhead Supervisor Laura Jens-Smith, Town of Smithtown Councilman Thomas Lohmann, Suffolk Legislator Monica Martinez, Suffolk County Clerk Judy Pascale, Assemblyman Edward Ra, LICA Executive Director Marc Herbst.

Standing from left to right:

Assemblyman Dean Murray, Town of Hempstead Supervisor Laura Gillen, Assemblyman John Mikulin, Suffolk Legislator Susan Berland, Suffolk Legislator Kevin McCaffrey, Assemblywoman Christine Pellegrino, NYS Office of Governor Cuomo Suffolk Reg’l Representative Brian Sapp, Town of Oyster Bay Supervisor Joseph Saladino, Town of Huntington Supervisor Chad Lupinacci, Assemblyman Andrew Raia, Nassau Legislator Thomas McKevitt, Senator John Brooks, Suffolk Legislator Rob Trotta, Suffolk Legislator Steven Flotteron, Suffolk County Executive Steve Bellone, Nassau County Comptroller Jack Schnirman, NYS Comptroller Thomas DiNapoli, Suffolk County Comptroller John M. Kennedy.


LICA Legislative Breakfast, 9-14-18 (53).jpg

LICA Executive Director Marc Herbst with NYS Comptroller Thomas P. DiNapoli.

LI Road Warriors Magazine is Here! Place an ad or find out more here.